Martian Gardens Episode 982

Martian Gardens Episode 982
Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
July 12, 2019
Contact Max Shea: 

(or just leave a comment below)
Listen: Where and When
Valley Free Radio WXOJ 103.3 FM
Taint Radio

Hour 1

Noah Creshevsky: Electric String Quartet
Sleeping Awake
Open Space/2019
electroacoustic music: Noah Creshevsky; composition year: 1988; time: 6:05

James Tenney: selections from 64 Studies for 6 Harps
a. Study #15 (1:52)
b. Study #16 (2:14)
c. Study #17 (2:00)

Changes — 64 Studies for 6 Harps
New World Records/2018
harps: Alison Bjorkedal, Ellie Choate, Elizabeth Huston, Catherine Litaker, Amy Shulman, Ruriko Terada; conductor: Nicholas Deyoe; recorded at the California Institute of the Arts, Valencia, November 24-26, 2017; composition year: 1985; total selections time: 6:05

Michael Jon Fink: Triptych
Cold Blue Music/2018
celesta: Michael Jon Fink; recorded at Architecture Studios, Los Angeles, September 28-29, 2018; time: 6:02

John Luther Adams: Cadenza of the Mockingbird
Canticles of the Holy Wind
Cantaloupe Records/2017
The Crossing chamber ensemble, conductor: Donald Nally; percussion: Amy Garapic; recorded at St. Peter’s In The Great Valley, Malvern, Pennsylvania, September 15, 2013; composition year: 2013; total selections time: 5:20

Chris Watson: Winter Flags
Outside the Circle of Fire
Touch Records/1998
massed knot roost recorded at Shingle Bank, Snettisham, Norfolk, UK, February, 1995; time: 3:49

David Toop: Seeds in Flight
Museum of Fruit
Caipirinha Music/1998
electronic keyboards, percussion: David Toop; biolectric fruit recordings: Michael Prime; recorded in London, November-December, 1998; time: 2:00

Elliott Sharp: Dispersion of Seeds
Mode Records/2018
Veni Academy, conductor: Marián Lejava; recorded at Kasárne Kulturpark, Košice, Slovakia; July 2015; composition year: 2003 (for string quartet, arranged here for Veni Academy ensemble); time: 15:59

John Cage: excerpt from Voiceless Essay
Ghosts and Monsters [various artists]
Technology and Personality in Contemporary Music
Leonardo Music Journal CD series, Volume 8

Electronic Music Foundation/1998
for four computer-generated tapes with 18 computer-generated mesostics; source text: Henry David Thoreau, “On the Duty of Civil Disobedience,” recorded for the Merce Cunningham Dance Company at Herbst Theater, San Francisco, November 21, 1986; composition year: 1986; excerpt time: 3:44

John Cage: 23 Seconds on John Cage (from 19 Questions)
From Zero (DVD)
Mode Records/2004 (orig. 1995)
voice, stopwatch: John Cage; director: Frank Scheffer; time: 0:42

John Cage and David Tudor:
a. Indeterminacy #50 (concerning cigarettes and Dutch customs) (1:30)
b. Indeterminacy #51 (concerning Erik Satie and German music) (1:30)

Smithsonian Folkways/1992 (orig. Folkways LP set 1959)
stories, readings: John Cage; piano, electronics: David Tudor; composition year: 1958; excerpt time: 3:00

Hour 2

Arvo Pärt: In Principio
a. In principio erat verbum [John 1:1-5] (3:09)
b. Fuit homo missus a Deo [John 1:6-8] (1:43)
c. Erat lux vera [John 1:9-11] (7:15)
d. Quotquot autem acceperunt sum [John 1:12-13] (3:36)
e. Et Verbum caro factum est [John 1:14] 3:50

In Principio
ECM New Series/2009
Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir; Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, conductor: Tõnu Kaljuste; text: Gospel of John; recorded at Estonian Concert Hall, Tallinn, June 2008; composition year: 2003; time: 20:00

Emmanuel Nunes: Minnesang
(for 12 voices a cappella); SWR Vokalensemble, director: Emilio Pomàrico; text: Jakob Böhme (Aurora, oder Morgenröte im Aufgang); recorded at Westdeutschen Rundfunks, Köln, March 31, 2001; composition years: 1975-1976; time: 23:40

Quince Contemporary Vocal Ensemble: Hushers
New Focus Recordings/2016
Quince CVA (Amanda DeBoer Bartlett, Kayleigh Butcher, Liz Pearce, Carrie Henneman Shaw); recorded at Northern Illinois University, De Kalb, January 2016; composer: Warren Enström; composition year: 2014; time: 5:02

The Vocal Constructivists: Sound Patterns (P. Oliveros)
Walking Still
Innova Recordings/2014
(for mixed chorus); composer: Pauline Oliveros; vocals: The Vocal Constructivists, director: Jane Alden; recorded at Wesleyan University, Middletown, Connecticut, 2014; composition year: 1961; time: 3:58

Hour 3

Roger Reynolds: Piccolo Dream (from The Ivanov Suite)*
Electroacoustic Music
New World Records/1993
piccolo: John Fonville; processing: Roger Reynolds; members of the Suzuki Company of Toga; recorded at the University of California San Diego; composition year: 1991; time: 4:01
*created for Tadashi Suzuki‘s version of Chekhov’s 1887 play “Ivanov”

Robert Scott Thompson: selections from The Strong Eye
a. Spontaneity knows its own discipline (6:21)
b. Oceans of Desire (1:49)
c. Realcage (Cloud of the Unknowing) (4:49)

The Strong Eye
Aucourant Records/1992
C-flute samples: John Fonville; bass flute samples: Sebastian Winston; voice samples: Victoria Bearden; cello samples, compositional algorithms, sound synthesis, digital signal processing: RST; recorded at the Danish Institute of Electroacoustic Music, Aarhus, Denmark, April-July, 1991; total selections time: 12:59

Brian Eno: Space Diary 1
Spinner (Eno/Wobble)
All Saints/1995
synthesizers, treatments: Brian Eno; recorded at Transfermation, London, 1994-1995; time: 1:51

Alistair MacDonald: Equivalence
Cabinets de curiosité
empreintes DIGITALes/2018
(for fixed media); electroacoustic music realized at the studios of Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, Glasgow; premiered at the Invisible Art concert series, Birmingham, March 31, 2007; composition year: 2007; inspired by Carl André’s “Invisible VIII“; time: 12:44

John Cage, David Tudor, Takehisa Kosugi: Five Stone Wind (excerpts)
Music for Merce Cunningham
Mode Records/1991
amplified violin, live electronics, bamboo flute:Takehisa Kosugi; nine clay pots and tapes: Michael Pugliese; live electronics: David Tudor; music for the Merce Cunningham dance “Five Stone Wind” (1988); recorded in May 1988, Washington D.C.; composition year: 1988; total excerpts time: 9:00

Alexander Sigman: Fcremaperc*
New Focus Recordings/2017
live electronics: Alexander Sigman (2013 collaboration with animator Eunjung Hwang); percussion: Eric Derr; re-composition year: 2014; time: 9:29
*Future Creatures Remap Percussion

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s