Martian Gardens Episode 1151

Martian Gardens Episode 1151
Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
May 13, 2023
Contact Max Shea: 
(or just leave a comment below)
Radio4All archive (search “Martian Gardens”)

Hour 1

Lee Weisert: Recesses I, Part 1

New Focus Recordings/2023
modular synthesis: Allen Anderson; violin: Nicholas DiEugenio; electronics: Jonathan Kirk; vocals: Melissa Martin; saxophone: Matthew McClure; electronics, guitar, percussion, piano: Lee Weisert; mastered at Oktaven Audio; time: 16:12

Lindsey Goodman: The Line of Purples (R. Woolf)
Returning to Heights Unseen (various composers)
Navona Records/2017
(for flute and pre-recorded electronics); flute: Lindsey Goodman; recorded at Tuff Sound Recording, Pittsburgh, December 16, 2016; composer: Randall Woolf; composition year: 2016; time: 12:41

Ruth Lomon: Tributary
Ruth Lomon at 80

Neuma Records/2011
flutes: Jesse Begelfer, Jill Dreeben, Emily Krainer; recorded at the Women’s Studies Research Center, Brandeis University, November 14, 2010; composition year: 2001; time: 8:42

Robert Morris: Sung Song
Robert Morris at 70
(various artists)
Compositions and Performances in Celebration
Open Space/2014
soprano: Heather Gardner; text: Blue Cliff Record; recorded in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, January 12, 2014; composition year: 2002; time: 8:34

Hour 2

Heitor Villa-Lobos: Uirapurú
Uirapurú/Bachianas Brasileiras No. 4/The Emperor Jones

Bridge Records/2003
Odense Symphony Orchestra, conductor: Jan Wagner; recorded at Carl Nielsen Hall, Odense, Denmark, August 2000; composition years: 1917-1934; legend of Uirapurú; time: 18:11

Seth Parker Woods: Difficult Grace (F. Gifford)
Difficult Grace (various composers)
Çedille Records/2023
(for cello, voice, and live electronics); cello, voice: Seth Parker Woods; text: Dudley Randall; recorded at the Chicago Recording Company, August 2022; composer: Fredrick Gifford; composition year: 2019; time: 6:23

Aaron Jay Myers: You Get on My Nerves and I Don’t Like Your Hat
Late Night Banter

Neuma Records/2023
(for four-part choir); soprano: Helen Hassinger; mezzo-soprano: Emily Harmon; tenor: Wes Hunter; baritone: Brian Church; text: Star Trek: Deep Space 9, Season 3, Episode 12, Past Tense, Part II (1995); composition year: 2020; time: 4:01

James Moore: selections from Desolation Pops
I. The Smiling Fish (2:50)
II. All the Insects Ceased (4:45)
III. A Hoop for the Lowly (1:53)
Desolation Pops
New World Records/2023
piano: Kathleen Supové; The Rhythm Method (violins: Leah Asher; Marina Kifferstein; viola: Carrie Frey; cello: Meaghan Burke); recorded at Taplin Hall, Princeton University, June 16, 2022; composition years: 2016-2018; total selections time: 9:27

Walter Zimmermann: selections from Fruende (Schalkhäußer-Lieder)
a. Muckn-Blues (Mosquito Blues) (2:22)
b. Carol’s Dream (5:28)
c. Ami-Schicks (1:47)
Mode Records/2021
voice, piano: Walter Zimmermann; harp, electronics: Gabriel Emde; electric guitar, concertina: Gerd Leibeling; drums, glockenspiel: Guido Conen; texts: a. Fitzgerald Kuzs; b. Walter Zimmermann; c. Gabi Schreimel; mastered from a recording of Carl Stone‘s radio program Imaginary Landscapes, November 16, 1982 (Los Angeles); composition years: 1979-1984 (sic.); total selections time: 9:37

Hour 3

Vaster Than Empires: Seaward Galaxy (1st 1/2)
Three Days

New Focus Recordings/2021
violin, baritone violin: Erica Dicker; percussion, amplified sound boards, shortwave radio: Allen Otte; electric guitar, synthesizers: Paul Schuette; excerpt time: 9:23

Matthew Ostrowski: ii

Pogus Productions/1997
electronic music: Matthew Ostrowski; recorded at STEIM Studios, Amsterdam; selection time: 10:24
(Studio for Electro-Instrumental Music)

Alvin Curran: Animal Behavior
CDCM Computer Music Series Volume 17
(various artists)
Music from the Center for Contemporary Music at Mills College
Centaur Records/1994
computer music, sampler: Alvin Curran; realized at CCM, Mills College, Oakland, 1992; time: 13:00

Robert Normandeau: Puzzle
empreintes DIGITALes/2005
(for 16-channel fixed media) electroacoustic music realized at the composer’s studio, Montreal, 2003; premiered at Open Space, Victoria, British Columbia, October 9, 2003; time: 5:39

Robert Scott Thompson: Engraved in Freehand
Play is the Supreme Bricoluer of Frail Transient Constructions

Aucourant Records/2012
electroacoustic music: RST; recorded at the composer’s studio, Roswell, Georgia; time: 7:41

Thomas Dolby: Planet of Lost Souls
The Gate to the Mind’s Eye
Giant Records/1994
synthesizer, piano: Thomas Dolby; voices: Alberto Garcia, Lucy Davies, Mona May; recorded at NRG Recording Studios, North Hollywood, California; time: 2:59

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s