Martian Gardens Episode 1019

Martian Gardens Episode 1019

Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
May 10, 2020
Contact Max Shea: 

(or just leave a comment below)
Radio4All archive (search “Martian Gardens”)

Hour 1

Kraftwerk: suite from Trans-Europe Express
a. Trans-Europe Express (6:40)
b. Metal-on-Metal (6:52)
c. Franz Schubert (4:25)
d. Endless Endless (0:45)

Trans-Europe Express
Capitol/1995 (orig. KlingKlang LP/1977)
written and recorded on electronic instruments by Kraftwerk; studios: KlingKlang, Düsseldorf; Rüssl, Hamburg; The Record Plant, Hollywood; total selections time: 18:08

In memory of Florian Schneider (April 7, 1947 — April 21, 2020)

Cluster: Manchmal
Grosses Wasser
Gyroscope/1996 (orig. Sky LP/1979)
keyboards, synthesizers: Moebius, Roedelius; recorded at Paragon Studios, Berlin; time: 2:05

Brian Eno: The Big Ship
Another Green World
Editions EG/1988 (org. Island LP/1975)
synthesizer, synthetic percussion, treated rhythm generator: Brian Eno; recorded at Island Studio, London, summer 1975; time: 3:01

Roger Eno and Brian Eno: Spring Frost
Mixing Colours
Deutsche Grammophon/2020
keyboards: Roger Eno; programming: Brian Eno; time: 4:07

Alvin Lucier: Nothing is Real (Strawberry Fields Forever) [Lennon/McCartney]
Ghosts and Monsters [various artists]
Technology and Personality in Contemporary Music
Leonardo Music Journal CD Series Volume 8
Electronic Music Foundation/1998
(composer: John Lennon; arr. Alvin Lucier); piano with teapot playback: Margaret Leng Tan; recorded at Radio Bremen, February 1998; composition year: 1967, Lucier arrangement: 1990; time: 9:15

Loretta Goldberg: selections from M.O.M. ‘N P.O.P.  (S. Hays)
(Music Only Music Piano Only Piano)
a. Na-na (1:11)
b. Music Box (1:40)
c. De Scales II (0:25)
d. De Gusibus (0:47)
e. Glasando Practice (2:08)

Zygotones (various composers)
Centaur Records/2000
pianos, Loretta Goldberg,  Sorrel Hays, Margaret Leng Tan; premiered at the National Women’s Studies Conference, Rutgers University, June 27, 1984; composition year: 1984; total selections time: 6:07

Larry Polansky: selections from The World’s Longest Melody
a. TWLM: Piano Study #11 (2:54)
b. TWLM: Piano Study #1 (1:50)
c. TWLM: Piano Study #4 (1:22)

Hallways — Eleven Musicians and HMSL (various artists)
Frog Peak Music/1993
a. moving/for Jody Diamond/b. calming/for Dan Goode and Anne Snitow/c. resolving/for Sydelle Polansky; piano, HMSL software: Larry Polansky; recorded at the Bregman Electro Acoustic Music Studio, Dartmouth College; composition year: ongoing; total selections time: 6:06

John Cage: Swinging
The Works for Piano 10
Mode Records/2018
piano: Thomas Schultz; recorded at Dinkelspiel Auditorium, Stanford University, March 2014; composition year: 1989; time: 0:57

Hour 2

Ruth Anderson: So What
Arc Light Editions/2020 (for download)
electroacoustic music: Ruth Anderson; composition year: 1971; time: 3:25

Ingrid Drese: Amaryllis
a. Verticalité — horizontalité — densité (5:13)
b. Émergence — complémentarité — suspendu (2:01)
c. Balancement (2:21)
d. Vide — strette (3:59)

empreintes DIGITALes/2009
electroacoustic music: Ingrid Drese; composed in the Métamorphoses d’Orphée of Musiques & Recherches; Ohain, Belgium, 1996; premiered at the Conservatoire royal de Mons, Belgium, July 1996; total time: 13:34

Annea Lockwood: Thirst
In Our Name
New World Records/2012
(for interview, soprano, sounds on tape) narrator: Simone Fattal; soprano: Kristin Norderval; bowed gong and piano resonances (on tape): Gustovao Aguilar, Joseph Kubera, and William Winant; other sounds in other places recorded by Annea Lockwood; composition year: 2008; time: 20:00

John Aylward:  selections from Angelus
IV. The Abstract (2:29)
V. Supreme Triumph (3:43)
VI. Secret Memory (3:01)

New Focus Recordings/2020 (for download)
Ecce Ensemble (voice: Nino Guo; flutes: Emi Ferguson; oboe: Hassan Anderson; clarinets: Barret Ham; violin: Pala Garcia; cello: Sam Budish; percussion: Sam Budish), conductor: Jean-Philippe Wurtz; recorded at the American Academy of Arts and Letters, New York City, June 2019; texts: IV. Arthur Schopenhauer, The World as Will and Representation; V. D.H. Lawrence, Apocalypse; VI. Carl Jung, Anion: Researches into the Phenomenology of the Self; composition years: 2014-2019; total selections time: 9:13

Linda Dusman: the best music is no music Mozart replide (sic.)*
I Need No Words
Neuma Records/2013
piano: Shannon Weittstein; composition year: 1997; time: 2:53
*from Suite Sweet Errata

Sylvia Smith: A Flower (J. Cage)
The Year Begins to be Ripe
11 West Records/2008
intoning voice: Christie Finn; closed piano: Sylvia Smith; composer: John Cage; composition year: 1950; recorded at the University of Maryland Baltimore County; time: 3:26

Hour 3

Chris Brown: Matrix
Fo’c’sle Records/2018
piano, electronics: Chris Brown; recorded at Whitney Studios, Oakland, California, February 4, 2012; composition year: 2012; time: 11:36

Sergio Sorrentino: Alpha Aloha (J. Vees)
Dream — American Music for Electric Guitar
Mode Records/2018
(for two electric guitars and sound processing); electric guitar: Sergio Sorrentino; recorded at Vercelli, Italy, 2015/2017; composer: Jack Vees; composition year: 2013; time: 4:47

Fred Lerdahl: Chaconne (String Quartet No. 4)
Fred Lerdhahl Volume Six
Bridge Records/2019
Daedalus Quartet (violins: Min-Young Kim, Matilda Kaul; viola: Jessica Thompson; cello: Thomas Kraines); recorded at the American Academy of Arts and Letters, May 3, 2018; composition year: 2016; time: 18:43

Sascia Pelligrini: Musica Ficta
Sascia Pellegrini Plays Music by Boretz, Pepples, and Pellegrini (Open Space 35)
Open Space/2017
piano, marimba: Sascia Pellegrini; recorded in Hong Kong; composition year: 2016; time: 5:06

Peter Garland: Spring View
“The Nation is Ruined but the Mountains and Rivers Remain” (after Tu Fu)
After the Wars
Cold Blue Music/2015
piano: Sarah Cahill; recorded at Architecture Studios, Los Angeles, December 19, 2014; composition years: 2007-2008; time: 4:53

Ning Yu: Of Being IV (from Of Being) (E. Praetorius)
Of Being (various composers)
New Focus Recordings/2020 (for download)
piano: Ning Yu; composer: recorded at Octaven Audio, Mt. Vernon, New York, May 5, 2019; Emily Praetorius; composition year: 2019; selection time: 6:18

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s