Martian Gardens Episode 970

Martian Gardens Episode 970
Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
April 4-5, 2019
Contact Max Shea: 

(or just leave a comment below)
Listen: Where and When
Valley Free Radio WXOJ 103.3 FM
Taint Radio

Hour 1

The Space Negros: Martians Have Landed
Dig Archeology 1975-1986
Arf Arf/1992
instruments, vocals: Erik Lindgren; recorded at 93 St. Josephine Street, Somerville, Massachusetts, Fall 1975; time: 1:32

Philip Perkins: westshoe
Mister Anyhow — Live in the studio 2011-14
Fun Music/2014
electronics, tapes: Philip Perkins; recorded at the composer’s studio, San Francisco; time: 2:55

David Mahler: Wind Peace (for Harold Budd)
The Voice of the Poet — Works on Tape 1973-1986
Artifact Recordings/1997
electroacoustic music on tape (sound sources: crystal glassware, aluminum pie pans); composition years: 1972; recorded at the electronic music studios of the California Institute of the Arts; time: 14:50

Harold Budd, Ruben Garcia, Daniel Lentz: Pulse – Pause – Repeat
Music for 3 Pianos
All Saints Records/1992
pianos: Budd, Garcia, Lentz; recorded at Metamusic, recorded at Metamusic Productions, Los Angeles, March 2, 1992; time: 4:12

Bernard Rands: Memo 5
Piano Music (1960 – 2010)
Bridge Records/2013
piano: Ursula Oppens; recorded at Purchase College, Purchase, New York, March – October, 2013; composition year: 1975; time: 10:48

James Tenney: selections from Changes
a. Study #1 (2:14)
b. Study #2 (1:56)

Changes — 64 Studies for 6 Harps
New World Records/2018
harps: Alison Bjorkedal, Ellie Choate, Elizabeth Huston, Catherine Litaker, Amy Shulman, Ruriko Terada; conductor: Nicholas Deyoe; recorded at the California Institute of the Arts, Valencia, November 24-26, 2017; composition year: 1985; total selections time: 5:10

John Luther Adams: Wail
The Mathematics of Resonant Bodies
Cantaloupe Music/2006
(for percussion and air raid sirens); percussion, sirens: John Luther Adams; recorded at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks; January 2002 and January 2003; composition year: 2002; selection time: 7:12

Dimitri Voudouris: ΑΛΘ=Φ (excerpt)
Pogus Productions/2010
for text-to-speech synthesis and computer-aided robot ensemble; realized at New Music Search Studios; excerpt time: 0:35

Edgard Varèse: Hyperprism
The Varèse Album
Wounded Bird Records/2007 (org. LP Columbia/1972)
Columbia Symphony Orchestra, conductor: Robert Craft; composition year: 1923; time: 3:50

Hour 2

Jon Forshee: Pedo Mellon a Minno*
Verses from the Aethersphere — Speculative Music of Jon Forshee
Open Space/2019
(for solo percussion); percussion: Katherine Hutchings; recorded at Kilbourn Hall, Eastman School of Music, Rochester, New York, composition year: 2004; time: 15:01
*from J.R.R. Tolkein’s Sindarin language, “Speak, friend, and enter.”

Paul Elwood: Plutonic Winds
Émissions Transparents
Innova Recordings/2019
The University of Iowa Percussion Ensemble (soprano: Aly Olson; Christine Augspurger; Andrew Veit, Ben Yancey, Wannapha Yannavut: percussion; celeste: Kelvin Tran), conductor: Daniel Moore; text: Albert Goldbarth; recorded at the University of Iowa, Iowa City, November 3, 2015; composition year: 2015; time: 7:50

Philip Glass and Allen Ginsberg: From Wichita Vortex Sutra (Song #6)
Hydrogen Jukebox
narrator, text: Allen Ginsberg; piano: Philip Glass; recorded at Looking Glass Studios, New York City, 1992; composition years: 1988-1990; time: 7:45

Emanuele Arciuli: Buffalo Dance (M. Daugherty)
Walk in Beauty (various composers)
Innova Recordings/2017
piano: Emanuele Arciuli; recorded at Keller Hall, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, spring-summer, 2016; composer: Michael Daugherty; composition year: 2012; time: 5:27

Gloria Coates: Indian Mounds
(“Indian Sounds,” Mvt. No. 2, Symphony No. 8)
Indian Sounds and Other Works
New World Records/2002
voices, stones: Kathleen Eberlein, Rose Bihler Shah; Musica-viva-ensemble Dresden, conductor: Jürgen Wirrmann; composition year: 1991; time: 8:49

Ingram Marshall: Gradual Requiem, Part 3
Fog Tropes
New Albion Records/1988 (orig. 1984)
mandolin: Foster Reed; voice, piano, Serge Modular synthesizer: Ingram Marshall; recorded at Möbius Studio, San Francisco; composition year: 1980; time: 3:13

Hour 3 

Jessie Montgomery: Coincident Dances
Project W (various artists)
Works by Diverse Women Composers
Çedille Records/2019
Chicago Sinfonietta, conductor: Mei-Ann Chen; recorded at Wentz Hall, Naperville, Illinois; September, 2017 – March, 2018; composition year: 2017; time: 11:40

Amsterdam Loeki Stardust Quartet: A la fontaine du prez (A. Willaert)
Time Signals — Recorder Music from the Netherlands (various composers)
Radio Netherlands/2001
recorders: Daniël Brüggen, Bertho Driever, Paul Leenhouts, Karel van Steenhoven; recorded at Willibrord Studio, Veenendaal, The Netherlands, November 1999; composer: Adriaan Willaert; composition year: unknown; time: 5:30

John Cage: Alpha C.M. (S. Belcher)
from Some of “The Harmony of Maine” (S. Belcher)
The Works for Organ
Mode Records/2013
pipe organ: Gary Verkade; recorded at Nederluleå Church, Gammelstads kyrkstad, Luleå, Sweden, November 8, 2008; original hymn: Supply Belcher (first published 1794); arr. John Cage, 1976; selection time: 1:34

Douglas Perkins: A Tale Begun (N. Davis)
Simple Songs of Birth and Return, Part I
Simple Song
New Focus Recordings/2012
mbira (thumb piano), processing: Douglas Perkins; composer: Nathan Davis; composition year: 2007; selection time: 3:24

Elizabeth Hoffman: Barrissement d’ éléphant
Modus Nodus — Chamber Works 2002-2003
Albany Records/2003
piano: Ryan Dorin; bass clarinet: Jean Kopperud; baritone saxophone, soprano saxophone: Tamur Sullivan; viola: Lois Martin; cello: Christopher Finckel; percussion: Dominic Donato; conductor: Thomas Carling; recorded a the American Academy of Arts and Letters; October 2002; composition year: 2002; time: 10:38

Joseph Celli & Jin Hi Kim: April One
No World (Trio) Improvisations
O.O. Discs/1992
voice: Shelley Hirsch; electric komungo: Jin Hi Kim; reeds, piri: Joseph Celli; recorded at Coyote Studios, Brooklyn, 1991; time: 10:55

Noah Creshevsky: Spring
The Four Seasons
Hyperrealist Music by Noah Creshevsky
electroacoustic music: Noah Creshevsky; ingredients may include — clarinets: Sherman Friedland, Al Margolis; clarinet, alto sax: Alex Kontoravich; tenor and alto saxes: Audrey Betsy Welber; tenor sax: Tedross Avery; trumpet: Ben Holmes; trumpet voice: Susan Watts; trombone: Monique Buzzarte; drums: Ray Marchica, Gregg Mervine; voice: Tomomi Adachi, Jeremiah Crawly, Amy Denio, Beth Griffith, Kathy Hanson, Chris Mann, Maria Mannisto; guitars, voice: Gary Heidt; guitars, Rodney Jones, Marco Oppedisano; banjo: Rich Gross; violins: Maria Kimura, Amy Zakar; basses: Orin Buck, Lonnie Plaxico, Heather Chriscaden Versace; composition years: 1992–2013; master composition year: 2013; time: 9:36

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s