Martian Gardens Episode 1147

Martian Gardens Episode 1147
Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
April 8, 2023
Contact Max Shea: 
(or just leave a comment below)
Radio4All archive (search “Martian Gardens”)

Hour 1

Francis Dhomont: Un autre printemps (Another Spring)

empreintes DIGITALes/2003
electroacoustic music realized at the composer’s Studio, Avignon, France, 2000; for Uli Aumüller’s film Mein Kino für die Ohren (My Cinema for the Ears), telecast March 14, 2001, in Europe; concert premiered at the Rien à voir (10) concert series, Montreal, December 15, 2001; time: 6:09

Kraftwerk: Morgenspaziergang (Morning Stroll)

Elektra/1992 (orig. Phillips LP/1974)
synthesizers, electronics, processing: Ralf Hutter, Florian Schneider; recorded at KlingKlang Studio, Düsseldorf, and Conny’s Studio, Köln, 1974; time: 4:03

Margaret Kampmeier and Tara Helen O’Connor: Share (B. Reynolds)
The Way Things Go (various composers)
Bridge Records/2015
piano: Margaret Kampmeier; flute: Tara Helen O’Connor; recorded at New Rochelle Studios, New Rochelle, New York, 2013; composer: Belinda Reynolds; composition year: 2003; time: 7:24

Nicholas Chase: Zuòwàng (坐忘)*
Tiny Thunder
Cold Blue Music/2023
piano: Bryan Pezzone; recorded at Architecture Studios, Los Angeles, June 2022; time: 11:38
*sitting, forgetting

Christopher Cerrone: From the Ground to a Cloud (The Air Suspended I)
The Air Suspended

New Focus Recordings/2022
piano: Shai Wosner; Argus Quartet; bass: Pat Swoboda; recorded at Shiny Things Studio, Brooklyn, and Machines With Magnets Studios, Pawtucket, Rhode Island, 2020-2021; The Air Suspended I-III composition year: 2019; selection time: 4:24

Gloria Coates: Aria — Junge Witwe (The Force for Peace in War, Mvt. II)
Indian Sounds

New World Records/2002
(cantata for soprano and chamber orchestra); soprano: Sigune Von Osten; Musica-viva-ensemble Dresden, conductor: Jürgen Wirrmann; text: Charlotte Hagedorn; The Force for Peace in War composition year: 1973; selection time: 5:00

Anthony De Mare: selections from Pianos and Voices
a. The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs (2:32)
b. Nowth Upon Nacht (0:49)
Pianos and Voices (Cage/Monk)
Koch International Classics/1992
piano, voice: Anthony De Mare; recorded at Mastersound, Astoria, Queens, 1991; composer: John Cage; composition years: a. 1942; b. 1984; texts: James Joyce, Finnegans Wake; total selections time: 3:21

John Cage: selections from Sonatas and Interludes
a. First Interlude (3:38)
b. Sonata V (1:52)
c. Sonata VI (2:15)
Sonatas and Interludes
Neuma Records/2023
prepared piano: Agnese Toniutti; recorded in Italy, 2021; composition years: 1946-1948; total selections time: 6:45

Hour 2

Robert Honstein: An Index of Possibility: Flow
Lost and Found

New Focus Recordings/2023
(for percussion trio); Tigue (percussion: Matt Evans, Amy Garaphic; Carson Moody); recorded at Oktaven Audio, Yonkers, New York, 2014; composition year: 2013; selection time: 4:59

Robert Scott Thompson: Fog Index I
Siren — Electroacoustic Music

Aucourant Records/2008 (orig. 1999)
electroacoustic music: RST; recorded at the composer’s studio, Roswell, Georgia; selection time: 4:06

Brian Eno: Events in Dense Fog
Music for Films

Editions EG/1987 (orig. LP/1978)
synthesizers, keyboards, treatments: Brian Eno; time: 3:44

Ryuichi Sakamoto with Illuha and Taylor Duepree: Perpetual, Mvt. III

12K Records/2015
piano, treated piano, percussion: Ryuichi Sakamoto; modular synthesizer, mastering: Taylor Deupree; Illuha (guitar, Hohner Pianet, electronics: Corey Fuller; pump organ, electronics, voice: Tomoyoshi Date); recorded at Yamaguchi Center For Arts And Media, Yamaguchi, Japan; time: 12:42

In memory of Ryuichi Sakamoto (January 17, 1952 — March 28, 2023)

Savvas Ysatis and Taylor Deupree: Dec 18 7 pm — Ideas in Every Language
Tower of Winds — Architettura Volume 1, Toyo
Caipirinha Music/1998
electronics, processing: Savvas Ysatis, Taylor Deupree; time: 6:23

Richard Pinhas: Western Wail (Part One)
Cuneiform Records/1992 (orig. Pulse Records/1982)
electric guitar, synthesizer: Richard Pinhas; Minimoog: Georges Grundblatt; drum kit: Clement Bailly; recorded at Studio Ramsès, Paris, 1981; total selections time: 7:46

The Astra Choir: Do It (R. Erickson)
Unsettled Choruses (various composers)
A Terrain of Humming and Phoneties 1930-1974
New World Records/2023
(for two choirs, speaker, drone instruments, gongs, and metal bars); The Astra Choir, director: John McCaughey; solo speaker: Warren Burt; bassoon, contrabass sarussophone: Joanne Cannon; violone: Chloë Sobek; double bass: Nick Synot; percussion: Alexander Meagher; composer: Robert Erickson; composition year: 1968; texts: Donald Peterson, Gen. Douglas MacArthur; time: 11:28

Hour 3

Ruth Anderson: SUM (State of the Union Message)
Lesbian American Composers
[various artists]
Composers Recordings, Inc./1998
tape collage (television commercials): Ruth Anderson; composition years: 1973, 1997; time: 7:37

Noah Creshevsky: Highway
The Tape Music of Noah Creshevsky

EM Records/2004
tape collage (various media): Noah Creshevsky; composition year: 1979; time: 8:53

I Wayan Sadra: O-A-E-O
Karya — New Music of Indonesia, Vol. 3

for male voices, flexatone (idiophone), ketipung (small Javanese drum), rebana (frame drum); recorded by Larry Polansky at the National College for the Arts, Surakarta (STSI), April 30, 1989; time: 3:08

Robert Morris & David Mott: Rapport, November 23, 1975, 10 p.m. (excerpt)
Open Space/2011
synthesizer: Robert Morris; tape delay system; David Mott; recorded at the Yale Electronic Music Studios, December 16, 1975; excerpt time: 12:00

Thomas Bloch: Mare Teno (M. Redolfi)
Ondes Martenot (various composers)
ondes Martenot: Thomas Bloch; electronics: Michel Redolfi; vocals: Susan Belling; recorded at Labo T, Neuilly Plaisance, France and Studio Mediacraft, Nice, France, April 2000; composer: Michel Redolfi; composition year: 2000; time: 7:25

Alvin Lucier: Swing Bridge (excerpt)
Swing Bridge and Sizzles
Mode Records/2022
(for organ, ensemble, and pipe wavers); Australian Art Orchestra (organ: Austin Buckett; voice: Sonya Holowell; trumpet: Peter Knight; trumpet: Tristram Williams; cello: Errki Veltheim; violin: Anna McMichael; cello: Mary Rapp; contrabass: Samuel Pankhurst; pipe wavers: Claire Edwardes, Martin Ng, Joe Talia, Simon James Phillips); recorded at Melbourne Town Hall, January 5, 2016; composition year: 2015; excerpt time: 10:00 (00:00 – 10:00 of 36:20)

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s