Martian Gardens Episode 1103

Martian Gardens Episode 1103
Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
April 18, 2022
Contact Max Shea: 
(or just leave a comment below)
Radio4All archive (search “Martian Gardens”)

Hour 1

David Hicks: Derivative Music: Games
Open Space 51 (Hicks/Pepples)

Open Space/2022
software design, computer music, realization: David Hicks; composition year: 2016; time: 9:34
In memoriam David Hicks (November 28, 1949 — November 6, 2021)

William Matthews: Aurora, A Waltz
Electronic Works (various composers)
Composers Recordings Inc./1982
computer music realized at the University of Toronto; composition year: 1981; time: 6:43

Noah Creshevsky: Three Minute Waltzes
i. Try
ii. Piranha
iii. Y Tu Mamá También
The Twilight of the Gods
electroacoustic music: Noah Creshevsky; composition years: i. 2003, ii. 2007, iii. 2006; time: 3:00

Joseph Celli: Violin & Video*
Video Ears Music Eyes

O.O. Discs/1995
(for violin and three channels of video); violin: Malcolm Goldstein; recorded at Real Art Ways, Hartford, Connecticut; composition year: 1988; time: 12:14
*dedicated to Malcolm Goldstein

Malcolm Goldstein: Storytelling
Because a circle is not enough — Music for Bowed String Instruments
New World Records/2022
viola: Jean René; recorded at Studio Hotel2Tango, Montreal, August 2021; time: 7:05

Jokoli of Totota: Musical Bow Solo
Music of The Kpelle of Liberia (various artists)
musical bow: Jokoli of Totota; time: 1:00

Jon Wieh: Bassa Musical Bow
Folk Music of Liberia
(various artists)
musical bow: Jon Wieh; time: 1:49

Arcomusical: Singularity (J. Muller)
Émigré and Exile
New Focus Recordings/2022
Arcomusical (Daniel Eastwood, Anthony Cable, Elena Ross, Ethan Martin, Raychel Taylor, Gregory Beyer), berimbau* (Brazilian musical bows); recorded at Kiwi Audio, Batavia, Illinois; spring 2018; composer: Jeremy Muller; composition year: 2020; time: 7:55
*from the Capoeira orchestral instruments

Hour 2

Nick Vasallo: When the War Began
I. The Enduring Moments Before Disaster 00:21
II. Falling from the Sky 02:45
III. Into the Storm 06:18
Neuma Records/2022
REDSHIFT ensemble (clarinet, bass clarinet: Jeff Anderle; violin: Andie Springer; piano: Kate Campbell; cello: Michelle Kwon; recorded at California State University, East Bay, Hayward, May 23, 2013; composition year: 2013

D.J. Sparr: Superstring Serenade
Hard Metal Cantüs
Innova Recordings/2020
(for string quartet); Del Sol String Quartet (violins: Sam Weiser, Benjamin Kreith; viola: Charlton Lee; cello: Kathryn Bates; double bass: Michael Taddel; recorded at the Scoring Stage, Skywalker Sound, Nicasio, California; time: 6:58

Arditti Quartet: Movement (H. Birtwistle)
Arditti Quartet 1974-1994 (various composers)
The Arditti Quartet (violins: Irvine Arditti, David Alberman; viola: Levine Andrade; cello: Rohan de Saram); composer: Harrison Birtwistle (from 9 Movements, for string quartet [1991–1996]); composition year: 1991; time: 3:49

John Cage: Five
The Number Pieces 6

Mode Records/2012
(for unspecified instruments or voices); blown bottles: Essential Music (Judith Gordon, Maya Guniji, John Kennedy, Eric Kivnick; Charles Wood); recorded at Purchase College, Purchase, New York, 1993-1994; composition year: 1988; time: 5:00

Robert Gross: We Call it Pop

blown bottles, electronics, processing: Robert Gross; time: 6:46

Steven Ricks: Can Improv 1
Available Resonances

Comprovise Records/2012
found sounds, Pepsi cans, microphones, computers: Steven Ricks; time: 10:21

Elsa Justel: Tapage Nocturne

empreintes DIGITALes/2015
(stereo fixed media); electroacoustic music realized at the composer’s studio, Mar del Plata, Argentina, 2015; premiered at Sala negra40, Buenos Aires, Argentina; time: 8:01

Hour 3

Andrew Seager Cole: Aphorisms on Futurism
Music from SEAMUS volume 22 (various artists)
New Focus Recordings/2021 (orig. SEAMUS/2013)
(for soprano and live electronics); soprano: Bonnie Lander; text: Mina Loy; composition year: 2010; time: 10:10

Joseph Waters: The Populist Manifesto
Music of Joseph Waters

North Pacific Music/2000
(for soprano and mixed chamber ensemble); soprano: Brenda Baker; accordion: Gernot Blume; saxophone: Tom Bergeron; cello: John Hubbard; percussion: Julie Spencer; text: Lawrence Ferlinghetti, “The Populist Manifesto” (1976); composition years: 1984, 1999; time: 15:43

Frances White: Like the Lily
Centre Bridge — Electroacoustic Works

Mode Records/2007
(for viola, double bass, and electronic sound); viola: Liuh-Wen Ting; double bass: Troy Rinker, Jr.; recorded at Abeshouse Productions, Pelham, New York; composition year: 1999; time: 14:20

Paul Lansky: Springs

Bridge Records/2021
(for percussion); Sō Percussion (Erica Cha-Beach, Josh Quillen, Adam Sliwinski, Jason Treuting); recorded at the Lee Orchestral Rehearsal Room, Lewis Center for the Arts, Princeton University, March 27, 2019; composition year: 2016; time: 11:52

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s