Martian Gardens Episode 1029

Martian Gardens Episode 1029

Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
August 2, 2020
Contact Max Shea: 

(or just leave a comment below)
Radio4All archive (search “Martian Gardens”)

Hour 1

Chris Brown: selections from Some Centre
a. The Show (3:48)
b. Fame (2:27)
c. Unraveled (6:07)

Some Center
New World Records/2020
The Chromelodia Project (cello, voice: Theresa Wong; oboe: Kyle Bruckmann; piano: Chris Brown); texts: Emily Dickinson (a, b, c); recorded at Tiny Telephone studio, Oakland, California, November 2, 2019; composition year: 2019; total selections time: 12:21

Elaine Barkin: Three Songs from “…the supple Suitor”
a. If I should die… (2:18)
b. The distance the dead have gone… (2:05)
c. Death is the supple Suitor… (2:30)

Open Space 34 — Elaine Barkin
Open Space/2016
texts: Emily Dickinson; MIDI instrumentation: a. vibraphone, piano, cello; b. vibraphone, oboe, piano/harpsichord; c. vibraphone, piccolo/alto flute, oboe, orchestral bells; composition years: 1979; total time: 6:53

Ennio Morricone:
a. L’Attentato (Alternate Version 1) (2:38)
b. Esplicitamente Sospeso (4:42)

Crime & Dissonance
Ipecac Recordings/2005
a. conducted by Nicola Samale; from the film L’attentat (1972); b. conducted by Ennio Morricone; from the film Le serpent (1973); (orchestras uncredited); total selections time: 7:18

Manuel Zurria:
a. Canon (A. Demoč ) (3:55)
b. Reed Phase (S. Reich) (9:34)

Again & Again
ANTS Records/2020
a. for four alto flutes; composer: Adrián Demoč; composition year: 2017; b. version for three piccolos and toy percussion; composer: Steve Reich; composition year: 1966; recorded at MZ @FUN’OM Studios, Rome; total selections time: 14:29

Paula Matthusen: Sparrows in Supermarkets
Pieces for People
Innova Recordings/2015
(for soloist and electronics); recorder: Terri Hron; recorded at Wesleyan University; composition year: 2011; time: 6:16

Werner Durand: Schwingungsknoten
Schwingende Luftsäulen
ANTS Records/2017
pan-ney, processing: Werner Durand; recorded in Berlin, Germany, 2016-2017; time: 3:08

John Baker: Hard Luck Hall
BBC Radiophonic Workshop — A Retrospective (various artists)
BBC Music/2008
tape music (sound source: air intake from pneumatic bottle opener); composition year: 1964; time: 0:32

Hour 2

Shulamit Ran: For an Actor — Monologue for Clarinet
Music by Shulamit Ran
Bridge Records/1995
clarinet: Laura Flax; recorded at Bard College, December 1993; composition year: 1978; time: 7:46

Pacifica Quartet: String Quartet No. 3 (S. Ran)
Glitter, Doom, Shards, Memory
I. That Which Happened (6:56)
II. Menace (3:08)
III. “If I perish — Do not let my paintings die”* (6:37)
IV. Shards, Memory (5:52)

Contemporary Voices (Ran/Higdon/Zwilich)
Çedille Records/2020
Pacifica Quartet (violins: Simin Gantara, Austin Hartman; viola: Mark Holloway; cello: Brandon Vamos); recorded at the Logan Center for the Recording Arts, University of Chicago, December 2019; composer: Shalumit Ran; composition years: 2012-2013; total time: 22:44
*Felix Nussbaum

Luc Ferrari: Visage 2
Madame Shanghai/Après Presque Rien/Visage 2
Mode Records/2011
(for brass, piano, and percussion) Musiques Nouvelles, conductor: Jean-Paul Dessy; recorded at l’Auditorium Abel Dubois à Mons, Belgium, April 21, 2006; composition years: 1955-1956; time: 10:02

Earle Brown: Music for Violin, Cello and Piano
Selected Works 1952-1965
New World Records/2006
violin: Matthew Raimondi; cello: David Soyer; piano: David Tudor; composition year: 1952; time: 3:02

Herbert Brün: Trio for flute, double bass, and percussion
Language, message, drummage
Electronic Music Foundations/1998
flute: Thomas Howell; double bass: Jon Deak; percussion: Michael Udow; recorded at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; composition year: 1964; time: 7:29

Hour 3

Anthony Gatto: On the train, inside the sleeping berth
Wise Blood
New Focus Recordings/2020 (for download)
voices: Martin Bakari as Hazel Motes, Brian Major as Asa Hawks, Holly Hansen as Sabbath Lily Hawks; Russell Rathblun as the porter, Gelsey Bell as the narrator; soprano saxophone: Geoffrey Landman; alto saxophone: Kristen McKeon; tenor saxophone: Erin Rogers; baritone saxophone: Zach Herchen; trombones: William Lang; euphonium, tuba: James Rogers; libretto adapted from Flannery O’Connor’s Wise Blood; time: 6:12

Joan La Barbara: A Different Train
The Time is Now (various artists)
Fiction by Melody Sumner Carnahan
Frog Peak Music/1998
voice, percussion, synthesizer, electronics: Joan La Barbara; bowed pianos: Gaylord Mowfrey; text: Melody Sumner Carnahan, “One Pink Mask,” recorded 1996; time: 3:23

Roger Doyle: Frozen in Stereoscope
Passades — Volume 2
BV Haast/2005
electronics: Roger Doyle; transformed voices: Olwen Fouere, Paul Dutton, Mary Doyle; recorded at the composer’s studio, Dublin; total selections time: 8:32

David Berezan: Hannibal
La face cachée
empreintes DIGITALes/2008
(for stereo fixed media); realized at the Elektronisches Studio Basel, Musik-Akademie Basel, Switzerland; Electroacoustic Music Studios of the University of Manchester, UK, premiered at the Museum, Tinguely, Basel, November 17, 2006; work inspired by Jean Tinguely‘s kinetic sculptures; time: 10:55

Dieter Moebius: Alte Mir
Electroacoustic Music #5 (various artists)
Electroshock Records/2000
electroacoustic music: Dieter Moebius; composition year: 1999; time: 10:22

Linda Dusman: Dindirindin
Electro Acoustic Music III (various artists)
Neuma Records/1994
(for computer-generated tape and soprano); soprano: Maria Tegzes; composition year: 1990; time: 8:31

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s