Martian Gardens Episode 1024

Martian Gardens Episode 1024

Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
June 16-20, 2020
Contact Max Shea: 

(or just leave a comment below)
Radio4All archive (search “Martian Gardens”)

Hour 1

Eighth Blackbird: Singing in the Dead of Night (J. Wolfe)
Singing in the Dead of Night (Lang/Wolfe/Gordon)
Çedille Records/2020
Eighth Blackbird (flutes, auxiliary piano, metals: Nathalie Joachim; clarinet, bass clarinet, auxiliary piano: Ken Thomson; violin, guitar, auxiliary piano, metals, sandpaper: Matt Albert; cello, harmonica, metals, sandpaper: Nick Photinos; percussion, accordion, metals, sandpaper: Matthew Duvall; piano, accordion, metals, sandpaper: Lisa Kaplan); recorded at the Logan Center for the Arts, University of Chicago; September-October, 2019; composer: Julia Wolfe; composition year: 2008; time: 18:51

Michael Gordon: Rewriting Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, Part 1
Cantaloupe Music/2014
Bamberger Symphoniker, conductor: Jonathan Nott; recorded at the Beethovenfest Bonn, September 30, 2006 (world premier); composition year: 2006; total excerpt time: 5:48

Lark Quartet: Ce Morceau de Tissu (A. Waggoner)
A Farewell Celebration
Bridge Records/2019
(for two string quartets); Lark Quartet (violins: Deborah Buck, Basia Danilow; viola: Kathryn Lockwood; cello: Carol Stinson/original Lark Quartet: violins: Kay Stern, Robin Mayforth; viola: Anna Kruger; cello: Laura Sewell); recorded at the St. Anthony Park United Church of Christ, St. Paul, Minnesota, April 15, 2018; composer: Andrew Waggoner; composition year: 2016; time: 16:16

Steve Reich: Sextet, Mvt. I — Fast
Sextet – Double Sextet
Mode Records/2018
Ekkozone (vibraphone: Matthias Reumert; vibraphone, marimba, synthesizer: David Hildebrandt; marimba, bass drum, crotales, piano: Morten Friis; piano, synthesizer: Oscar Micaelsson; piano, synthesizer: Alexander Mckenzie); recorded at Odense Concert Hall, Odense, Denmark, October 20, 2014; composition year: 1984; total time: 10:59

Hour 2

Alexander Sigman: Atrocity Exhibition*
VURT Cycle
New Focus Recordings/2020 (for download)
(for ensemble and live electronics); flutes: Gemma Tripiana Muñoz; clarinets: Eric Sans i Morera; trumpet: Chloë Abbott; electric guitar: Pete Harden; percussion: Klará Andrlová; piano: Reinier van Houdt; violin: Roberto Rutkauskas; recorded at the Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, University of Leeds, UK, March 25, 2014; composition year: 2013; time: 7:05
*inspiration: Joy Division via J.G. Ballard
**Inspiration: Jeff Noon

Luigi Nono: Per Bastiana Tai-Yang Cheng
Omaggio a Vedova
WERGO/1993 (orig. 1976)
(for electronic tape and orchestra in three groups); Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, conductor: Michael Gielen; recorded at Sender Freies Berlin; composition year: 1967; time: 15:07

Karlheinz Stockhausen: Schlagtrio
Complete Early Percussion Works
Mode Records/2014
piano: Katalin Lukács; timpanis: Justin DeHart, Fabio Oliveira; recorded at Theater A, University of California San Diego, October 2008; composition year: 1952, revised 1973; time: 16:08

Henry Brant: Ceremony
The Henry Brant Collection Volume 9
Innova Recordings/2007
(spatial event for four voices, violin, cello, oboe, and orchestra in three trios); University of California Santa Cruz Orchestra; conductor: Nicole A Paiement; soprano: Duonna Weissgarber; mezzo-soprano: Svetlana Kagan; tenor: Laurent Martin; baritone: Adam McLearen; composition year: 1954; time: 12:28

Hour 3

Chas Smith: Twilight of the Dreamboats
Twilight of the Dreamboats E.P.
Cold Blue Music/2015
metal sound sculptures, steel guitars (design, performance): Chas Smith; recorded at TDS Studios, Reseda, California, 2014; mixed at Architecture Studios, Los Angeles, 2015; time: 24:58

Philip Mantione: Disputed Artifacts
modular synthesis: Philip Mantione; composition year: 2019; time: 8:01

Hypercube: American Tokyo Daydream IV (data structures/monoliths) (S. Pluta)
Brain on Fire
New Focus Recordings/2020 (for download)
saxophone: Erin Rogers; electric guitar: Jay Sorce; piano, accordion: Andrea Lodge; percussion: Christopher Graham; recorded at Staller Center for the Arts, Stony Brook, New York; and Adelphi University, Garden City, New York; composer: Sam Pluta; composition year: 2007; time: 10:20

Trio: Improvisation No. 1
Trio — Bull, Heward, Linson
guitar: Arthur Bull; drums: John Heward; bass: Adam Linson; recorded at Stone House Sound, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, May 17, 2013; time: 7:09

Jin Hi Kim: & Gerry Hemingway: Quick Step
Auricle Records/2010
composition, electric komungo: Jin Hi Kim; percussion, drums: Gerry Hemingway; recorded Shutesbury, Massachusetts, August 18, 2010; time: 3:09

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s