Martian Gardens Episode 997

Martian Gardens Episode 997
Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
November 10, 2019
Contact Max Shea: 

(or just leave a comment below)
Listen: Where and When
Valley Free Radio WXOJ 103.3 FM
Taint Radio

Hour 1

Matt Sargent: Separation Songs (excerpt)*
Separation Songs
Cold Blue Music/2019
(for two string quartets); The Eclipse Quartet + overdubbing (violins: Sarah Thornblade, Sara Parkins; viola: Alma Lisa Fernandez; cello: Maggie Parkins); recorded at Architecture Studios, Los Angeles, 2018-2019; composition years: 2013, 2018; excerpt time: 10:30
*variations on four-voice hymns from the New England Psalm Singer; William Billings (1770)

John Cage: Transmigration (S. Belcher)
from Some of “The Harmony of Maine” (S. Belcher)
The Works for Organ
Mode Records/2013
pipe organ: Gary Verkade; recorded at Nederluleå Church, Gammelstads kyrkstad, Luleå, Sweden, November 8, 2008; original hymn: Supply Belcher (first published 1794); arr. John Cage, 1976; selection time: 10:20

Yvar Mikhashoff: For Cornelius (A. Curran)
Panorama of American Piano Music (various composers)
from Antheil to Zappa: 1911 to 1991
Mode Records/2013
piano: Yvar Mikhashoff; recorded at Slee Hall, Buffalo, New York, 1991-1992; composer: Alvin Curran; composition year: 1982; time: 13:47

The Vocal Constructivists: Treatise, movement 3, pages 145-166 (C. Cardew)
Walking Still
Innova Recordings/2014
The Vocal Constructivists, director: Jane Alden; recorded at Wesleyan University, 2011, composer: Cornelius Cardew; composition years: 1963-1967; arr. Jane Alden; time: 7:05

Jesse Jones: After the End
After the End — Musicians from soundSCAPE (various artists)
New Focus Recordings/2019
soprano: Tony Arnold; flute: Lisa Cella; violin: Mark Fewer; percussion: Aiyun Huang; piano: Thomas Rosenkranz; text: Jonathan Brent Butler; recorded at the Auditorium di Maccagno, Pino e Veddasca, Lombardy, Italy; July 2017; composition year: 2017; time: 7:59

Hour 2

George Crumb: Sun and Shadow
(Spanish Songbook II)
A cycle of five songs on the poetry of Federico Garcia Lorca
I. Lazy River (Corriente Lenta) [3:53}
II. The Fly (Mosca) [2:29}
III. The Interrupted Concert (El Concertieto Interrumpido) [2:33]
IV. Dance of the Moon in Santiago (Danza da Lua en Santiago) [2:33]
V. Farewell (Despedida] [3:15}

Complete Crumb Edition Volume 16
Bridge Records/2014
soprano: Ann Crumb; amplified piano: Marcantonio Barone; texts: Federico Garcia Lorca; recorded at Swarthmore College, July 2013; composition year: 2009; total time: 15:24

In memory of Elizabeth Ann Crumb (May 25, 1950 – October 31, 2019)

Chou Wen-chung: Eternal Pine I
Eternal Pine
New World Records/2015
Contemporary Music Ensemble Korea (CMEK) (gayegeum: Yi Ji-young; changgu: Kim Woong-sik; percussion: Kim Joeng-seung; daegum, saenghwang: Park Chi-wan: piri); recorded in Seoul, June 6, 2012; composition year: 2008; time: 20:11

In memory of Chou Wen-chung (July 28, 1923 – October 25, 2019)

Jin Hi Kim: Howdy Partner
Komunguitar — Improvisations
komungo: Jin Hi Kim; banjo: Eugene Chadbourne; recorded in Santa Fe, New Mexico; time: 5:36

D. J. Sparr:
a. META444 (7:44)
b. Dance (from Earthcaster Suite) (1:57)

Electric Bands
Innova Recordings/2019
a. violin: Hajnal Kármán Pivnick; piano: Brianna Matzke; electronics: D.J. Sparr; recorded at PianoForte Studios, Chicago; b. violins: Karen Strittmatter Galvin; percussion: Shawn Galvin; guitars, banjo, mandolin: D.J. Sparr; violas: Kimberly Sparr; cellos: Jake Wenger; double bass, Hammond organ: Mark Morton; recorded at Bunker Sound Productions, Chapel Hill, North Carolina, and Amusement Park Recordings Studio, Lubbock, Texas; for Minnow Media’s documentary, Earthcaster; total time: 9:43

Hour 3

R. Weis: Labyrinth into the Drum
Glass In Your Ear
R. Weis/2019
electroacoustic music (sound sources: broken glass, broken crockery), Machfive Sampling Software and Digital Performer: Robert Weis; recorded at the composer’s studio, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; time: 4:52

Leonie Klein: Thunder (P. Eötvös)
Gathering Thunders
Wergo/2018 (for download)
(for solo bass timpani ); bass timpani: Leonie Klein; recorded at SWR Studio, Kaiserslautern, Germany, May 2018; composer: Peter Eötvös; composition year: 1993; time: 5:44

Steven Schick: Rebonds A/B (I. Xenakis)
Drumming in the Dark (various composers)
Neuma Records/2000
solo percussion: Steven Schick; recorded at Warren Studios, University of California San Diego, 1997-1998; composer: Iannis Xenakis; composition years: 1987-1989; time: 11:11

Kenneth Gaburo: Antiphony VIII (Revolution)
Maledetto/Antophony VIII
Pogus Productions/2008
(for percussion and tape); percussion: Steven Schick; recorded at the California Institute of the Arts; 1984; composition years: 1982, 1983; time: 14:28

Jon Forshee: Pedo Mellon a Minno*
Verses from the Aethersphere — Speculative Music of Jon Forshee
Open Space/2019
(for solo percussion); percussion: Katherine Hutchings; recorded at Kilbourn Hall, Eastman School of Music, Rochester, New York, composition year: 2004; time: 15:01
*from J.R.R. Tolkien’s Sindarin language, “Speak, friend, and enter.”

Amy Knoles: Bird Scream
2 x 10 x 10 x 10 + 1
electronics, tapes, voice: Amy Knoles; guitar: James McKissick; text: Michael Tobias; time: 1:39

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s