Martian Gardens Episode 889

Episode 889
Recorded at Max’s home studio,
Amherst, Massachusetts
June 15, 2017
Contact Max Shea:
(or just leave a comment below)
Listen: Where and When

Hour I

Wallace Stevens: The Emperor of Ice Cream
reader: Alan Drake, for LibriVoxoriginal publication: 1922; time: 1:00

David Starobin: Four Stevens (M. Starobin)
I. Summer (The House was Quiet and the World was Calm)
II. Autumn (Autumn Refrain)
III. Winter (The Snow Man)
IV. Spring (Not Ideas About the Thing but the Thing Itself)
New Music with Guitar, Vol. 10 (various composers)
Bridge Records/2016
guitar: David Starobin; bariton: Patrick Mason; composer: Michael Starobin; texts: Wallace Stevens (I 1947, II 1932,  III 1921, IV 1954) ; composition year: 1992; time: 15:05

John Melby: Two Stevens Songs
I. A Postcard from the Volcano (4:24)
II. Domination of Black (4:55)
International Electronic Music (various composers)
soprano: Phyllis Bryn-Julson; computer-synthesized tape: John Melby; texts: Wallace Stevens (I. 1923; II. 1916); composition year: 1975; realized at the Digital Recording Laboratory, University of Illinois, and Godfrey Winham Laboratory, Princeton University; total time: 9:18

Lewis Nielson: Tocsin
Mode Records/2015
(for six percussionists), red fish blue fish, conductor: Steven Schick; recorded at Conrad Prebys Center, UC San Diego, La Jolla, December 10, 2012; composition year: 2009; time: 21:17

David Mahler: A Blooming Rose (for Charles Ives)
Only Music Can Save Me Now
New World Records/2010
piano: Nurit Tilles; recorded at the American Academy of Arts and Letters, New York City, November 2009; composition years: 1971, rev. 1976; time: 1:46

Charles Ives: The Light That is Felt
The Light That is Felt — Songs of Charles Ives
New World Records/2008
soprano: Susan Nurucki; piano: Donald Berman; recorded at the Recital Hall at the Performing Arts Center, SUNY Purchase, March 2008; composition year: 1903; time: 2:20

Hour II

Steven Schick: Bone Alphabet (B. Ferneyhough)
Drumming in the Dark
Neuma Records/2000
percussion: Steven Schick; composer: Brian Ferneyhough; composition year: 1992; time: 10:17

Mark Applebaum: The First Decade + The Second Decade
Innova Recordings/2015
(for five percussionists); The Southern Oregon University Percussion Ensemble; director and soloist: Terry Longshore; conductor: Bryan Jeffs; recorded at Southern Oregon University Music Recital Hall, October 2014; time: 10:16

Noah Creshevsky: Ommagio
The Twilight of the Gods
Tzadik Records/2010
samples, processing, fixed media: Noah Creshevsky; composition year: 2001; time: 7:30

Marco Oppedisano: Flash Forward
Spectropol Records/2015
electoacosutic electric guitar, electric bass, samples: Marco Oppedisano; time: 3:31

Jon Rose: Some People
The People’s Music
ReR Megacorp/2003
(for string orchestra, fixed media, and video installations); The People’s String Orchestra (members of the West Australian Youth Orchestra and the University of Western Australia String Orchestra), conductor: Lindsey Vickery; recorded at the Winthrop Hall, UWA, Perth, July 7, 2001; remixed at the Hospital Studio, Amsterdam, September 2001; time: 2:22

Craig Walsh: Pipeline Burst Cache
Music from SEAMUS Volume 9 (various artists)
The Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States/2000
(for cello and two-channel tape); cello: Rhonda Rider; composition year: 1998; time: 7:45

Eric Chasalow: Wolpe Variations
Are You Radioactive, Pal?
Suspicious Motives Records/2015
electroacoustic music commissioned for the Wolpe Centennial; composition year: 2003; time: 5:46

Stefan Wolpe: Allegro Giusto, Epilogue, Andante (from Drei kleinere Kanons, op. 24a)
Wolpe in Jerusalem
Mode Records/2006
Ensemble Recherche, conductor: Werner Herbers; recorded at the SWR-Studio, Karlsruhe, Germany, January 1992; composition year: 1936; time: 2:02

Hour III

Benjamin Boretz: UN (-)
Open Space 13 (Boretz/Randall)
Open Space/2001
(for chamber orchestra, realized with MIDI); MIDI programming: Benjamin Boretz; composition year: 1999; time: 10:08

Dennis Báthory-Kitsz: The Sub-Aether Bande
(for flute and percussion, realized with electronics); electronic music: Dennis Báthory-Kitsz; composition year: 2000; time: 10:59

Dan Joseph: selections from Set of Four
a. Trio I (5:50)
b. Trio II (6:55)
Electroacoustic Works
XI Record Records/2017
electroacoustic music sourced from dulcimer: Dan Joseph; recorded at the composer’s studio, New York City, summer 2008; total selections time: 12:45

Eleonore Oppenheim: Heavy Beating (W. Smith)
Innova Recordings/2016
(for double bass and electronics); Eleonore Oppenheim; composer: Wil Smith; composition year: 2007; time: 7:32

Carey Nutman: No Place for Theory
Sang et Lumière
MPS Music & Video/2010
electronic music: Carey Nutman; recorded at the composer’s studio Houghton-Le-Spring, England; time: 10:48

Georges Forget: Orages d’acier (Storm of Steel)
Le dernier présent
empreintes DIGITALes/2015
(for stereo fixed media);  realized at the composer’s studio, Montreal, 2007; premiered at the Music Faculty of the University of Montreal, April 2007; time: 9:17

— FIN —

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s